top of page

My thoughts on France's new counterterrorism law

This previous summer I had the opportunity to live in France for seven weeks with a host family. During my time there, the effects of past terrorist attacks in France were apparent. Security was tight and armed police officers roamed the streets of Paris and the small town of Aix-en-Provence where I stayed. At times, it was frightening to think about the potential attacks that could occur while I was there. On the other hand, I felt safe with the armed military officers and the intense security that everyone had to go through. As I read this article, I recounted my experience in France.

This new law will replace the state of emergency that France was currently in for two years and it allows authorities to increase security at established places, like Christmas markets. It also allows authorities to verify identities around borders. While there are advantages to this new bill, some people oppose this it because of its alleged infringement of civil rights.

This brings me to my thoughts on freedom vs. security. The French president said that there needs to be a balance between both, and he believes that this bill provides that balance. There is a fine line between too much security and too much freedom. If security is pushed too far, it can infringe on individuals’ civil rights. At the same time, in light of recent events, people are scared and action needs to be taken to keep innocent people safe. Finding the right balance can seem impossible, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try.

I believe that keeping citizens safe should be a government’s number one priority. While I know many people complain about long security lines or invasive pat downs, I believe that they are necessary for safety and they give people peace of mind. By tightening security and combatting terrorism, it encourages foreign firms to keep investing in France and helps maintain stable markets. From what I have read thus far, I agree with this new bill and I hope it is a step in the right direction in mitigating terrorism in a country that I love so much.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page